Majority Win

With all polling booths reporting in, NDP Candidate Vicki Mowat had 60 per cent of the vote compared to Scott’s 31 per cent. Liberal Shah Rukh, Progressive Conservative David Prokopchuk and the Green Party’s Taylor Bolin each accounted for less than 5 per cent of ballots cast, with a voter turnout of 35 per cent.

Previous Riding History

The riding had maintained a large history of NDP wins until Brad Wall’s Saskatchewan party redefined political boundaries turning a 60% safe NDP seat, into a tight grudge match with the Saskatchewan party receiving hard fought victories during the last two general elections.

The shift from a tight battle to comfortable NDP majority shows that many voters within Saskatchewan could be losing their interest with the parties message now that it’s potentially larger than life leader has announced his resignation.

New MP Spotlight

“We all share in this win,” Mowat told supporters in her victory speech. “Tonight we celebrate, but tomorrow we get back to work.”

It was her second try at the seat for Mowat as she lost the 2016 election by just 200 votes. She works for the associate dean of Aboriginal Affairs at the University of Saskatchewan.

Continuing Trend

Earlier this year, the Saskatchewan Party also lost a provincial byelection in the Saskatoon riding of Meewasin, where Ryan Meili claimed victory for the NDP.

Meili won with 54 per cent of the vote over Saskatchewan Party candidate Brent Penner, a former Saskatoon police officer who came in second with 40 per cent.

Meili is now vying for the leadership of the Saskatchewan NDP, along with Regina Rosemont MLA Trent Wotherspoon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here